Stuffed Tulips

Stuffed Tulips are a spring favorite in the PrairieFrog home.  They are lovely conversation piece to bring to luncheons, or a pretty appetizer for a main meal.

Stuffed Tulips

6 tulip blossoms

6 eggs

1/4 tsp salt

4 T. sour cream

2T fresh chives, chopped

1T  fresh tarragon chopped.

1T fresh parsley chopped

Boil eggs for 12 minutes.

Prepare the tulips by removing pistons & stamen inside stem

Gently wash the flowers and pat dry.

Shell the boiled eggs and chop them fine.

(Cooling boiled eggs quickly in cold water facilitates shelling)

Add salt, sour cream, chives and tarragon.  Mix well.

Spon egg salad filling.into tulips, filling them carefully.

Enjoy, blosoms and all!

7 thoughts on “Stuffed Tulips

  1. Interesting. I’d love to see a pic of these! (My family would probably just eat the filling, though.)

  2. Your stuffed tulips sound so good and I’m sure a great conversation starter at gatherings. Thanks for sharing.
    Happy Day!
    Julie D.
    p.s. I hope you all are feeling better.

  3. Hi!
    Stumbled on your recipe while trying to find information about edible tulips! Googled about edible tulips and found that people either say that the whole plant is edible, that the whole plant is poisonous, or that the petals are edible but not the stem and bulbs. With some variations.

    I really want to come to the conclusion that they are edible and since you obviously find them to be so – do you have any reliable sources about tulips being edible? I want to convince my fellow gardeners that they are, but without something reliable to point at they will just keep laughing at my “But I heard that they ARE….from somewhere.”. 😉

    Keep up the good work! 🙂

  4. Hi, Angela! As in everything, do your own research. I’m not an authority on the subject, but have eaten tulip petals on many occasions and suffered no ill effects. From everything I’ve read the bulb of a tulip is considered poisonous by many (I haven’t tested this myself though), but I’ve never read anything of the flower petals being toxic (although there are a few individuals who are allergic-usually they can tell they have an allergy because they’ll get a rash or numbness from touching the petals.) As to reliable sources: both of my hard-copy Edible Flower references give recipes for tulip petals. My two books are, Edible Flowers From Garden To Plate by Cathy Wilkinson Barash and Edible Flowers, a Kitchen Companion by Kitty Morse.

Leave a comment