Family Pictures

Last night we celebrated “Christmas Adam” (Because, Adam comes before Eve…).  Christmas Adam is our own private family celebration.  We generally finish our advent devotionals on this night, then open the presents to each other before spending Christmas Even and Christmas Day with extended family.  It was a special time, and I especially enjoy watching the children delight in giving the gifts they’ve worked on for their siblings.  Thanks to Ken’s workshop, and some help from our Barn Elf, they make amazing wooden treasures to give to one another.  I hope to photograph those special gifts sometime in the coming weeks and share them here.

My blog readers (all three of you) often comment that I should get into the pictures more often myself.  I’m usually the only member of the family interested in being behind the camera, and even with a remote control, trying to be on both sides of the camera is challenging.  We tried a few family photo shoots where I’d set up the shot, scurry into the frame and snap the shutter either from a hand-held remote or via the timer feature, but it just wasn’t fun.

This autumn, I contacted a delightful young lady to do our photography.  Leah Christine captured a wide variety of lively shots, and all without my having to thing about metering or white balance, Leah handled everything, and I just joined my family in following her fun directions.

As you look through these pictures, consider this our Christmas card to you!

Photo by Leah Christine Imagery

Photo by Leah Christine Imagery

In broad daylight–and in front of the children!

Kieran is just sooo Kieran in this shot!

Kieran is just sooo Kieran in this shot!

Photo by Leah Christine Imagery

Photo by Leah Christine Imagery

Photo by Leah Christine Imagery

Photo by Leah Christine Imagery

Photo by Leah Christine Imagery

Photo by Leah Christine Imagery

Photo by Leah Christine Imagery

Photo by Leah Christine Imagery

Photo by Leah Christine Imagery

Merry Christmas, from the PrairieFrogs!  (And many thanks to Leah Christine Imagery)

10 thoughts on “Family Pictures

  1. The happiness each of you have with each other is so apparent in these photos. That must make your Christmas Adam and all your celebrations extra special!

  2. I was going to say that I felt honored to be among your three blog readers, but then I saw that there are comments from 5 distinct readers on this post alone….and now I just feel like one of the crowd….

Leave a Reply

