My Niece turns 11 in Wizardly Style

My youngest niece turned 11 this summer and we were invited to Hogwarts to celebrate!   She chose to be “Holly Potter”, a twin sister to Harry in a parallel dimension which is similar, but not an exact match for the world J.K. Rowling depicts.)

I hope other attendees captured great photos.  Migraine fog prevented me from being as intentional with my captures as I’d like.  (I doubt the distortive glasses I was wearing helped either.) (Distortive–it is a word right?)

I went as Sybil Trelawney–Ken said I even did well on the accent!  Maybe there are some practical (?) benefits to watching an insane number of Emma Thompson movies (Ken in turn did a great stuttering Quirrel):

Yours truly, as Sybil Trelawney

Yours truly, as Sybil Trelawney

The children always enjoy getting together with their cousins!

Left to right: Holly Potter (My niece, KT), Katie Bell (Kendra), Harry Potter (Keegan), Padma Patil (Kiffanie) Hermione Granger (Kaira), Ginny Weasley (Keianna), Rubeus Hagrid (Kieran), Ron Weasley (my nephew, CJ)

Left to right: Holly Potter (My niece, KT), Katie Bell (Kendra), Harry Potter (Keegan), Padma Patil (Kiffanie) Hermione Granger (Kaira), Ginny Weasley (Keianna), Rubeus Hagrid (Kieran), Ron Weasley (my nephew, CJ)

Everyone gets into the make-believe:

Left to right: Sybil Trelawney (me), Quirinus Quirrel (Ken), The nurse, Madam Poppy Pomfrey (my mother-in- law, Grandma K), Professor Albus Dumbledore (my father-in-law, Grandpa S), Professor Severus Snape (my brother-in-law, Jim), Minerva McGonagall (my sister, Lorelle)

Left to right: Sybil Trelawney (me), Quirinus Quirrel (Ken), The nurse, Madam Poppy Pomfrey (my mother-in- law, Grandma K), Professor Albus Dumbledore (my father-in-law, Grandpa S), Professor Severus Snape (my brother-in-law, Jim), Headmistress Minerva McGonagall (my sister, Lorelle)

Peeves, being Peeves, arrived slightly late (Professor Sprout was with him), and so they missed the main group shot:

Professor Pamona Sprout (my mom), and Poltergeist Peeves (my dad)

Professor Pamona Sprout (my mom), and Poltergeist Peeves (my dad)

Potions class was perplexing fun!:

Potions Class

Potions Class

Persistent Ginny (Keianna) tried the prescribed stirring pattern over and over again, but Sneaky Severous Snape secretly sabotaged the students solvents. (Say that three times fast!)

Studious Ginny

Studious Ginny

They played 8 rounds of Quidditch. (I think it was 8 rounds? The snitches all kinda blurred together for me by the end, but great fun was had, and each child got their very own snitch.)

Quidditch Players  (I love Hermione's hair!)

Quidditch Players (Great hair, Hermione!)

Ron and Ginny Weasley Guarding the Goal:

Weasley Siblings; Ron and Ginny

Weasley Siblings; Ron and Ginny

Padma Patil has the quaffle!

Padma Patil has the quaffle!

Katie Bell takes a shot

Katie Bell takes a shot

Madam Pomfrey treats players who are “out” before they return to the game:

Madam Pomfrey treats

Madam Pomfrey treats “injured” players

.

Double, double, toil and trouble; Fire burn and cauldron bubble

Double, double, toil and trouble; Fire burn and cauldron bubble

My sister throws amazing parties! She made delicious chocolate frogs, cauldron cakes, and delectable peasant stew (no actual peasants were used as ingredients).  We washed it all down with butter beer, sampled every-flavour-beans, then Wizards shopped at Eyelops and Ollivanders for owls and wands to take home!

It was a magically fun party–my migrained photos don’t do it justice.  Happy birthday to my niece, KT!  You make a fabulous Holly Potter!

3 thoughts on “My Niece turns 11 in Wizardly Style

  1. Look at Kaira’s hair cut! It is very pretty and makes her look grown up. And, yes, distortive is on dictionary.com 🙂

Leave a Reply

