Essential Oil Blends ~ From the PrairieFrog Apothecary (Part I)

A friend asked me to type up recipes for my essential oil blends, so I’m sharing here on the blog too! There are some great pre-made blends on the market, but the overhead is high for the Multi-Level-Marketing distribution, and I prefer customize most of my own.   Many sites like AromaWeb list properties of various essential oils so that you can select those which best suit your needs.  Other sites list complementary oils and suggest which ones play nicely together–or you can experiment. Because essential oils are expensive, I like to initially mix in tiny batches, then test the scent on a toothpick as I tweak my personal blends.

After our New Year’s respiratory illness, my husband remarked again at how much the diffused oil seemed to help him sleep despite congestion.  (Although we were kicking ourselves for not running the diffuser right away when the first person showed symptoms!  Often when we catch it right away, it seems we prevent having illness run through the ranks.  I think we were over-confident this time–or just distracted.)


PrairieFrog Bubonic Bandit:

“Bubonic bandit” is my spin on oil blends inspired by the Legend of the Four Thieves.  There are various versions of this legend and just as many variations on the recipe.   It goes something like this: A small band of thieves (usually 4) made their fortunes looting and robbing during the 14th Century while the Black Death devastated Europe.  According to tradition, one of these men was an herbalist (or relative of an herbalist) and through his strategic concoction, they were able to stay healthy themselves through their exploits.  The story (or one version thereof) concludes with the bandits escaping punishment, for although they were caught, they were granted their lives in exchange for the secret recipe–which may or may not have similarities to my blend below.  When we first think someone is catching something, or when we are wanting to boost immune systems and clear the air to prevent illness that might be going around, we add Bubonic Bandit to the diffuser.

Bubonic Bandit Recipe:
8 parts Clove Bud Oil
7 parts Lemon Oil
4 parts Cinnamon Oil
3 Parts Tea Tree Oil
2 Parts Rosemary Oil
1 Part Eucalyptus Oil
Sometimes I do 2-3 parts of Lavender Oil too.. entirely optional, but has some nice properties, “lightens and brightens” the mix, and mingles well with the other scents.


PrairieFrog Clear Skies

Another blend that’s nice for “clearing the air” is one I’ve called, “Clear Skies”.  It has a refreshing, energizing, and bracing qualities to drive away heavy clouds as well as fight nasty germs.

Clear Skies Recipe:
4 parts Bergamot Oil
3 parts Clary Sage Oil
2 parts Sweet Orange Oil
1 Part Lemon Oil
1 Part Clove Oil
1 Part Eucalyptus Oil
1 Part Cedarwood Oil

Clear Skies makes a fun base for several variations, try:

Margarita Skies: 2 parts Clear Skies, 1 part Lime Oil   Invitorating. 
Lemonade Skies: 2 parts Clear Skies, 1 part Lemon Oil  Refreshing, aids mental clarity
Orange Julius Skies: 2 parts Clear Skies, 1 part Orange Oil  Sweet and clean
Lavender Skies: 2 parts Clear Skies, 1 part Lavender Oil   Relaxing with a hint of romance
Grapefruit Sunrise: 2 parts Clear Skies,1 part Grapefruit Oil  Fresh & bright-a cleaning day favorite
Raven Skies: 2 parts Clear Skies,1 Part  Ravensara Oil  Herbal-fresh, helps respiratory issues
May Skies: 2 parts Clear Skies, 1 part May Chang Oil (also known as Litsea Cubeba): Pure sunshine
Grey Skies: 2 parts Clear Skies, 1 part Bergamot: Bergamot  is the main scent/flavor in Earl Grey Tea

Lavender is restful, calming and anti bacterial and microbial.  Citrus oils are all potent germ killers and invigorating.   Lemon is said to improve concentration and even help test scores.  (I’ve no idea if this is true, but Kaira has requested I diffuse lemon oil when she does certain math assignments.)


PrairieFrog Respiratory RefreshMint

For nasal, chest or lung congestion, we reach for Respiratory RefreshMint (I like alliteration; can you tell?)  Diffused at night, it will ease breathing or coughing.  For this last illness, I combined a few drops with a bit of lotion or coconut oil and rubbed it on Ken’s chest and back to ease his breathing.  (For topical use, mix into a lotion or “carrier oil.”  Don’t use straight essential oils on the skin–they can burn!)  Usually we just diffuse it.

Respiratory RefreshMint Recipe:
8 parts Peppermint Oil
4 parts Lemon Oil
3 parts Eucalyptus Oil
3 parts Tea Tree Oil
2 parts Rosemary Oil
1 part Oregano Oil


I have no intention of turning this into a health and beauty blog.  There are dedicated blogs out there that do a far better job than I ever would.    That said, I’m thinking of doing a little “series” of health/beauty posts.  I’d like to share the custom, homemade hair products we’ve discovered–some for Kiffanie’s hair, and some that work for all of us.  I’ve also tweaked our homemade deodorant recipe to as near perfection as I can imagine.  I hope to share some of those topics in the next week or two, and I’ll be referring to these essential oil blends in recipes for other products.

Pictured below: One of our Diffusers along with some of our blends.  I print the name of the blend and attach it to the front of the bottle with clear tape.  I also print the formula recipe which I attach to the back of the bottle.   Remixing and refilling  is simple when the recipe is right there on the container.

PrairieFrog Proprietary Blends

PrairieFrog Proprietary Blends

Disclaimers: I’m just a mom with a blog. I’m not a doctor and don’t have any impressive credentials. Don’t blindly try anything you read on the internet.  I don’t promise these will cure anything, or that they are without risk. Reactions are rare, but be mindful of guests or others who might have sensitivities.   (On the other hand, don’t assume that you’ll have problems with essential oils because you have fragrance sensitivities.  I’m highly sensitive to almost anything “scented”, but most pure, quality essential oils don’t bother my allergies at all-in fact they help!)


Resource List:

Per the comments, I added another post linking to some of our favorite for oils.  Click here to go to Part II where I list some sites and brands we’ve tried.

15 thoughts on “Essential Oil Blends ~ From the PrairieFrog Apothecary (Part I)

  1. I am very interested in essential oils! We are a big herb, tincture/glycerite family and love the results we always see. I have been hearing a lot about oils and want to know more! I have a son who has really, really, really bad allergies and asthma and am wondering if diffusing something in his room and the house would help us wean him off the steroids he needs to take(or he ends up admitted to the hospital). Can you point me to any good research websites for them? Thank you for posting this!

    • Hi, Faith! I had bookmarked this article some time ago re: asthma and essential oils: http://www.naha.org/articles/treating_asthma.htm. I was impressed by it’s thoroughness, and the recipes sound “right on” from my limited experience. I find eucalyptus, peppermint, clary sage and ravensara to be great for asthma, but most of the essential oils in “Clear Skies” or “Respiratory RefreshMint” are beneficial for those–but…. please go extra careful because your son has known allergies. I’d add one oil at a time in his case just to make sure. I’ve found most essential oils help my allergies or bronchial asthma, but every person is different.

  2. This is really helpful, Dell…I’m just starting to look into the benefits of Essential Oils for our family, and it’s a bit overwhelming! It’s good to have some “tried and true” info from someone with experience in their use. Thank you! (And looking forward to any further health and beauty posts you want to throw in! :))

    • It’s not super loud, but it’s not like the “whisper” models. In our busy home, we don’t need silent, so it works for us, but the quieter models would be nice. On some models the EO bottles hook right in, but not on mine. On mine, there’s a little “well” in the front into which I pour the oils.

  3. Thank you for posting these blends! And excellent pictures by the way; that diffuser is so much more appealing than the large plastic illuminated things I see everywhere else. On my way to Diffuser World to check them out next..

    • You are welcome! I like the simple elegance of that diffuser too. It’s lovely when form and function meet! I hope you find the right diffuser for your needs!

    • Hi, Joe, usually we diffuse the oils. I linked to some diffusers (like the one pictured) at Diffuser World in the post, but there are many kinds. Essentially the diffuser releases small particles of the essential oil into the air. Occasionally we apply essential oils topically, but then we add in a “carrier oil” as undiluted the oils can irritate skin. Jojoba oil, almond oil, or olive oil make good base oils if you wish to dilute essential oils for topical application. (Do not add anything to the essential oils if you use a nebulizing diffuser–only for topical application. Carrier oils clog the diffuser and aren’t intended for inhalation.) I don’t recommend ingesting essential oils internally–at least not without doing considerable research. Generally we diffuse them, but occasionally we will dilute with a carrier oil and apply topically.

Leave a Reply

