For Whom the Bell Tolls

When I posted about the bells on Christmas day, I wasn’t expecting it to be death knell! Indeed we had a lovely Christmas, but right after most of the guests left, an unwelcome, viral visitor arrived. It was evening, on Christmas Day.  We’d enjoyed a fun day of food, music, children dancing, and general merriment.   We’d cleaned up the food.  (I joked that there was so much food I wouldn’t need to cook for a week–this ended up being a fortunate provision, as we survived the upcoming epidemic by munching on these very left-overs.)  Tired, happy children were tucked into bed, and I’d settled on the couch beside Ken to chat with my parents and sip  coffee laced with Peppermint Schnapps.  Then, faster than a sleigh with eight tiny reindeer, the evil virus descended.  It was the fastest hitting illness I’ve ever experienced.  I knew the exact moment the grinchy-creepy-virus hit.   I coughed through the night, and barely woke for several days.  I crawled out of bed to bid my parents goodbye, and a few more times to sit on the couch for a bit with a child, or eat an occasional meal, but most of the next few days blurred into piles of Kleenex®.  I can’t remember all the levels of Dante’s Inferno, but I’m pretty sure there’s one dedicated to bronchial/respiratory ick, and that’s where I’ve been.  The children joined me one-by-one.  So far, all but Kiffanie have succumbed–and somehow, Ken’s remained immune, my mighty hero! I’ve staggered from my bed as zombie-mom, but he’s coordinated whatever members of this crew are healthy on each given day to take down the Christmas decorations, repaint my office, and now he’s tackling the master-bedroom repainting!  My accomplishments pale in comparison to his: I’ve showered a few times, and even gotten dressed some days.  That’s about it. We are blessed.   The week between Christmas and New Years is generally just a time of relaxing, reading, and hunkering down for us anyway, so if there’s such a thing as good timing for sickness, this was it.  And it was very courteous of the sickness to wait until we’d finished the Christmas festivities!    Now, I’ve just got to recuperate before Ken returns to work next week!  We are eager to get back to academics, and other routines. If you should find yourself grappling with a similar illness, I recommend a tea that’s been helping our coughs.

Cough-Easing Tea

  • 2 parts cut, dried, red clover tops
  • 1 part cut, dried, ginger root
  • 1 part cut, dried, osha root,
  • 1 part cut, dried, licorice root

Brew it into a tea (I let it brew for 5-10 minutes–longer than most teas), drink hot, adding lemon and honey if desired.

Here’s a random photo from Christmas morning, before the epidemic hit:

Kiffanie opens her Christmas Stocking

Kiffanie opens her Christmas Stocking

2 thoughts on “For Whom the Bell Tolls

  1. Hi Dell,
    I love seeing a new post from you in my Google reader, but sorry that you were sick. Hope you will be feeling better soon. Since this was Kiffanie’s first Christmas with you, was she excited about the gifts and stocking?

Leave a Reply

