Halfrow; Progressive Styling

Before lunch I washed, detangled, and moisturized Kiffanie’s hair, then gave her a half-row (half-afro).  We thought we might be heading to fly kites this afternoon, but kite flying was canceled due to rain-showers.  It was still nice enough for recess in the back yard, so she played a bit before stage two of her styling session.

Here’s the “half-row” style.  I think it could work as a style on it’s own , and might be a nice option for doing her hair in stages–progressive styling.

Swinging a Halfrow

Swinging a Halfrow

Caught Ken With His Eyes Closed

Caught Ken With His Eyes Closed

And finally, I did finish the rest of the flat-rope-twists.  It’s a style that’s supposedly more gentle than corn-rows, and with her scalp still possibly needing a break after the tension bumps from her home-coming style, I want gentle.

Finished Flat Rope Twists

Finished Flat Rope Twists

6 thoughts on “Halfrow; Progressive Styling

  1. She seems like a joyous child. Always anxious to hear more. I am certain you will get the hang of doing it faster, or at least enlist sisters into hair stylists.

  2. I love these pictures. She is a very special little girl in a very special family. You can never post to many picture of your family. I love to see the interaction with her other family members.

  3. Can I just state how impressed I am? I know hair styling seems like such a little thing, however when we first adopted our son and daughter, we belonged to a an adoption support group for trans-racial adoption. I cannot tell you how many of those mothers refused to learn how to style their daughters AA hair and those poor little girls ended up with either a dry matted mess, or with their hair shorn to the scalp like a boy. Most of them grew up hating their looks (especially their hair) and wishing they looked like their “white” sisters cause their hair was “prettier” I remember being so adamant I would not do that to my little girl that I would little stop AA mothers in the mall if I saw they had daughters with sweet hairstyles and healthy hair, and ask them for styling tips. It still amazes me how happy and even please complete strangers were to help. 🙂 None the less, it took me years to learn how to do what you have learned in a matter of days. Give yourself a pat on the back, your little Kiffanie will never feel less beautiful than her sisters, because she has a mom willing to take the time to learn how to style and care for her beautiful AA hair.I really am so impressed.
    Cheryl

  4. Thanks, she has beautiful hair, so the twists were just the icing–God gave her the crown of beauty, and all I had to do was style it. It’s still on the short side and hard to hold onto for twists and braiding. Nicole, I didn’t take lessons in person, but benefited from the fabulous blogs and youtube videos available. Cheryl, I think I’m at an advantage in researching hair ideas for her hair today over what was available years ago–the blogs and videos have been an amazing resource and a huge help to me! I totally agree with you, that no little girl should feel her hair is less beautiful–especially when it is so amazingly beautiful. (And Cheryl, I’m impressed at how well you did seeking out resources before youtube and blogs! What a great example!)

Leave a Reply

