Day 4

I’m impressed at Ken’s emails–He’s typing on the ipad’s virtual keyboard, which drives me batty for more than a paragraph or two, but I’m so grateful he’s taking the time and recording his experiences in Kiffanie’s birth-land, getting to know her, and experiencing the life she’s known. It helps me here on the other side of the globe to see a bit of it through the emails–I hope many of you enjoy the journey too!

Here’s Ken…

Day 4

Sweet little Kiffanie woke up very sleepy this morning. She wandered down the hall in kind of a fog, not uncommon for the adults in our household. I helped her get her clothes and sent her down to get cleaned up dressed and breakfasted. The last couple of days before I leave I intend to do this myself, but she is still getting used to me. Just another quiet morning as I wait for Didier to go to town.

I finally made a major break through on Kiffanie, I now know how to get her to hug me and show affection. All I have to do is be around the other children in the orphanage. She then becomes very possessive. After Kiffanie went to have breakfast this morning, I was waiting for her to come back or Didier to come so we could go to town. Anita came and found me and we walked down to where the older orphans stay. Kiffanie and the others were there, so I was going to try and get some pictures. I had hoped to photograph and get to know C & A (a brother and sister at the orphanage). Anyway, when the other kids started to show an interest in me, all of a sudden I was very popular with Kiffanie. The pictures are on the other camera, but most were not very good, as the children all wanted to see the camera, or if they wanted there picture taken, they stood right in front of me. One foot in front of me. The lighting was also horrible, and a few of the pictures had bright window light in the background. I will try later and maybe send those from the iPad.

We went to town again and got another document taken care of. This was from the burgomaster’s office ( aka. Burglar master). This was the $20 document. Didier said we have $100 and a $200 documents left to go. Didier’s friend sent the visa documents today, so we should have that tomorrow, so we may have all the business that needs to be taken care of finished, and then on Thursday we will just have to board the plane to come home. Praise God!!!    Thank all the people praying for me, I know the Lrd is taking care of things here.

Tonight’s dinner consisted of chicken, cooked carrots and green beans, some vegetable I don’t remember the name of and foo-foo. I commented that foo-foo tastes like the food that we had from the missionaries from Malawi. Didier said that is a dish that is popular all over Africa and that it is the same thing. It is sticky, heavy and very bland, a little bit like a plain corn tortilla. It is made out of maize after all.

I forgot to tell you about this afternoon. We did not return from town until about 2:30. Kiffanie did not go with us today, as we planned for a longer time in town today. She was resting as the orphanage children are often doing. Then Didier’s children caught me and I had seven children playing with the iPad. I hope it survives the week. Kiffanie came up and watched some, but mostly played on her own. I realized today that I did not spend much time with her. Tomorrow may be a little like that again, but if all the business of getting her out of the country is completed, it will free up a lot of time for her the rest of my stay.

On day 2 I mentioned a little bit about the driving. Didier told me that if a driver his a pedestrian here, that they are likely to drive on and nobody will stop to help. So pedestrians beware.

The market here where most of the food is purchased for the orphanage is unique experience. The main market is just a row of maybe 40 shops. They are these white buildings which share a common wall and are only open from the front. They are not likely to burn down as the are almost all concrete or brick. Each shop is not very big (I will try to attach a picture), but then anybody who has something to sell just flops down in front of one of the shops. Most of the downtown is like that, people selling anything and everything.the market has a bad smell to it. My guess is that it is a cross between human waste and animal left overs after slaughter. Didier said that you cook everything here, no raw vegetables. He bought me some apples, which I have honestly been afraid to eat, because what he told me. Kiffanie and Didier’s kids are happy to take them from me. They eat them right down to the core, there is no waste here. When Didier ate the chicken tonight, he ate right down to the bone, he even ate most of the cartilage. I did not clean mine up quite that well. But I digress, the market has its share of beggars, but mostly just people who want to sell things. By about 2 in the afternoon the place is just a mass of people. Cars still don’t slow down that much. I am surprised that there hasn’t been a number of accidents, but so far I haven’t seen one.

The last two days for lunch, we have stopped by a supermarket and bought sandwich fixings. Because of the cost of meat and cheese, probably spent about $25 for a loaf of bread and 300 grams of Swiss and salami. I would have needed at least double the amount to feed my hungry crew. This is why Didier said they subsist on rice, beans, and vegetables. The meat is much more expensive and is not as good. That reminds me, two things I am looking forward to when I get home is a steak and some ice cream. Also, something cold to drink would be nice, even water. We did have cokes at the restaurant the other night, they were cold but they did not have ice, and I splurged and bought an apple juice at the supermarket. I have tried to buy Didier the dried meats and cheeses, but the sandwiches are the best I have managed so far. Well it is about 10 pm, generator is out and Kiffanie is sleeping, so I think I will crash.

I know that my thought are in a random jumbled fashion, but I hope you are sifting through it ok and getting a little bit of what life is like here.

Love you all muchly,

Ken

Sent from my iPad

First meal home; steak, icecream and an iced beverage of his choice!

He sent this photo of a street-side market downtown:

Congolese Market

Congolese Market

Leave a Reply

