Spine Poems

I discovered Spine Poems from a friend’s link on facebook yesterday and had to give it a whirl.

It began as a novel way (ahem… my apologies for the pun) to confound my family.  They stared in puzzlement as I wandered the house scouring bookshelves, arranging and rearranging books into piles, and snapping pictures of completed stacks.   The children whispered amongst themselves wondering what I was doing.  Ken shook his head and chuckled accustomed to my eccentricities. Finally I explained to my puzzled children, and they were immediately hooked.  I guess they figured, “Mommy’s gone crazy.  If we can’t beat her, join her.”

My own book selection is limited; This would be a blast in a public library with a (quiet and respectful) homeschool co-op.   Just for fun, I submit my humble attempts at Spine Poems:

.

.

.

.

.

.

Disclaimer: The above spine poems aren’t an attempt to convey any personal philosophy, but rather just stream of bookishness that sounded interesting in the moment.  Over analysis of spine poems may result in a warped mental state.

For more inspiration, the work of Nina Katchadourian is considered the model for this genre.  I especially like her shark themed stack.

Go forth and play with books!

9 thoughts on “Spine Poems

  1. As an irreverent Child, I used to search for any interesting juxtaposition of song titles in the hymnal instead of listening to the sermon. I haven’t done that for more than a year however.

  2. Glad you’ve matured past that, Grumpy Dave.

    Breezy Point Mom-That’s neat that R.C. Sproul is your pastor. We really like his writing.

  3. Fun idea! I’m just so happy that I can even get on your blog, as the other day I was being told that this blog was now “private.” I left you a message after one of your “Taming the Chaos” articles, but I guess you can disregard that now. 🙂 Thanks for all your great ideas!

    Jamie
    MT Rancher’s wife and Homeschool Mom

  4. Maggie, the children contributed to the first and last stack–most the stacks were a group effort to some degree. 🙂

    Jamie, I’m glad you found the blog again! I had it on private recently while categorizing posts and you must have happened by while I was revising. I plan to keep the blog public though. Thanks so much for commenting!

  5. Hehe, I finally made my way back over here after having some computer problems earlier in the week, and I’m so glad I did. Love the poems – they are too cute. Though I may have over analyzed, because I’m feeling pretty warped now…

Leave a Reply

