Taming the Chaos–The Loop Made Easy

Loop Wheel

In a previous article I mentioned my experiment with a loop schedule. I can now report that the experiment is a success with my youngest scholars. (I don’t loop my older students. Some do, I just already had a system that flows nicely for upper elementary at this stage of our lives.)

I wanted to share a simple manipulative that helps me keep track of where we are in our loop—I printed the “wheel” of our subjects, then cut a circle out of plain cardstock to match the size of our loop wheel. After slicing a wedge from the wheel to serve as a window, I pinned both to the wall with a thumb tack–blank circle on top.

The top circle spins easily on the thumb-tack axis, and I can move it forward as we progress through our loop.

This little low-tech gizmo has made the loop much easier to implement and the children enjoy watching as I turn the wheel, eager to see what’s up next!

To read more about our loop schedule, visit this earlier Chaos article: http://homeschoolblogger.com/hsbcompanyblog/784282/

(Article cross-posted from my Taming the Chaos column on the Homeschoolblogger Front Porch.)

~Domestic Chaos tamer and homeschool mom of 5, Dellwrites about home, heart and hearth.~

Taming the Chaos: Dell

Leave a Reply

