The Month of the List

I’m not generally an extensive list maker. November is the exception. November is, to me, the month of the list. In busy seasons, my cluttered brain needs that paper “backup drive” more, and as I plan for the holidays, I like to get things on paper (or in a Word.doc) so that nothing’s overlooked.

Here are my present lists and notes–perhaps they’ll remind you of something, or maybe you’ll share some additional memory-ticklers to prompt the rest of us!

  • I have a Thanksgiving list running of things to buy or make for the holiday. Because we were invited to celebrate with my in-laws, I don’t have a lot to do, but I’ll still want to cook our own turkey for turkey soup, and I’ll be bringing a few things to the family celebration.
  • Christmas menu: We host the annual Christmas gathering, and I like to have the menu roughed-out early to facilitate shopping.
  • Winter Wardrobe: We are pretty much set, but as always, there are a few articles of clothing I’d like to add to fill in a gap here and there.
  • Christmas gifts: Done! Even though I’m finished purchasing, this list is still essential for me to ensure nothing’s missed when I wrap
  • Stocking Stuffers: Again, even when I’m done purchasing, this list helps me ensure nothing falls through the cracks Christmas morning
  • Address list: For mailing cards. (Full disclosure statement: I have this list, but probably won’t use it. I’m a Christmas card failure. You can do better than me, go forth and send cards.)

Also: Don’t forget to buy new calendars or planners–the new year is sneaky and will be here before you can say figgy pudding.

(Article cross posted from my Taming the Chaos column on the HomeschoolBlogger Front Porch)

~Domestic Chaos tamer and homeschool mom of 5, Dell writes about home, heart and hearth.~

Taming the Chaos: Dell

Leave a Reply

