Taming the Photo Chaos

I take oodles of pictures. It keeps me out of mischief, preserves memories, and affords an outlet for artistic expression. Keeping the photos organized–both on my hard-drive and in print–helps them retain value. Heaps of photos are useless unless you can find the memories you want again and share them with others in a meaningful way.

I print only a handful of our favorite memories so most of my picture organization is of digital photos. I file them chronologically on my hard drive, duplicate them on the external hard drive, and burn them to DVD as a final backup. (And I’m behind on backing them up, so this is on my “to do” list for next week!)

In perusing a favorite blog, I smiled to discover that she organizes both her digital photos and her prints similarly to how I stash my own! So, rather than repeat what Rachel already said so well, I’ll just direct you over to Small Notebook to read her excellent posts on the subject.

For those piles of actual prints, hop over to read, What to Do with Boxes of Photos. Then proceed to find out how to simply organize digital memories, go to How to Organize Digital Photos (The Easy Way).

Take lots of pictures, save only those worthwhile, and organize simply so you don’t get bogged down in the process.

(Article cross-posted from my Taming the Chaos column on the HSB Front Porch.)

~Domestic Chaos tamer and homeschool mom of 5, Dell writes about home, heart and hearth.~

Taming the Chaos: Dell

Leave a Reply

