Wordless Wednesday: Harp and Hammers Video

Click either the pictures to play the video here on this page.

Kaira playing O Holy Night

O Holy Night: Kaira on Harp 12/09Arrangement by Sylvia Woodshttp://cdn.smugmug.com/ria/ShizVidz-2009090604.swf

.

Two Duets: Kaira and Kendra

Planxty Irwin and Silent Night on Harp and Dulcimer by Kaira and Kendra. 12/09Music Arranged by Alice Freemanhttp://cdn.smugmug.com/ria/ShizVidz-2009090604.swf

(Just a tip for those of you with slower connections: I like to start a video playing and then walk away from the computer while it loads.  When I return and replay it, the flow is smoother because it has already loaded once.)

10 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday: Harp and Hammers Video

  1. Standing ovation!!!
    How beautifully they play ~ like two little angels!
    Thanks for sharing this with us. My 8yo daughter especially enjoyed it and wished she could "play like an angel, too!" It is so neat to see the girls in motion after years of following your blog.
    God bless you and yours this New Year,
    Heatherj

  2. Congratulate the girls for me. I sent the e-address to several friends and family members.

    You just might start a movement toward homeschoolers playing Harp & Dulcimer.

    Grumpy Dave

  3. I haven't commented here in ages…sorry about that! I thoroughly enjoyed hearing your girls play Christmas music! I love hammered dulcimer. I agree that their playing is very peaceful and lovely. All that practice really pays off!

  4. Oh my that was WONDERFUL!!!

    SO beautiful….

    Does your daughters fingers ever get sore playing the harp? It looks like it could hurt for awhile until you got used to it….

    Thanks for sharing!

  5. Absolutely lovely! Seriously. I sat here with tears in my eyes. Not necessarily because of the beauty of the pieces (but they were beautiful) but because of your lovely daughters and what a fantastic job you are doing with them. You must be so incredibly pleased – you ARE doing a good job. Redeeming the time. It shows! Your family is a constant encouragement to me.

  6. Thank you for all the sweet comments on my girls! The song in their hearts is a daily blessing to me. (The songs on their instruments is an added bonus!)

    As to mominpa's question about the strings hurting her fingers, Kaira's says hers almost never hurt. When she started harp a year ago her teacher instructed her to only play 15 minutes at a time for the first few weeks. She worked up slowly and now often plays for two hours in a day.

    I lack the time and discipline the girls invest in their music, but I do try to play a little bit, and my fingers do hurt if I play more than I'm used to. No doubt my inconsistency keeps my fingers from developing the calluses she has.

Leave a Reply

