Itsy-Bead-Sie Adventure!

Yesterday the resident three-year-old boy, in a moment of supreme three-year-old boyishness found a styrofoam Itsy-Bead-Sie (yes, that’s their real name–truly), and realized it fit quite well in his olfactory orifice.   Evidently he was quite persistent, because he managed to get that little styrofoam ball up around a little bend–which I learned is called a turbinate.

Various attempts to extract the object at home failed, including nasal irrigation, tweezers and other rare forms of tortures reserved for little boys with impulse control issues. (Poor little guy. He was a trooper.) We gave him a break from the tortures, and he ate lunch and played outside while I made myself a mocha frostie and pondered what to do.  It wasn’t blocking air, and he was active and fine–our only concern was infection if it remained–and it clearly wasn’t going to budge on its own. Finally a call to the doctor resulted in an appointment.

It took them most of an hour. One gal tried, called another, then called in the doctor, then when all attempts failed they called ER for suggestions (all stuff I’d tried and they’d tried). They were about to refer me to an ENT when finally they found a tool thing that held open the passage further, and after another 10 minutes of torture (poor boy’s nose bleeding by now) they got it!

Interestingly, one of the nurses mentioned she had a three year old boy, and a vase filled with

Itsy-Bead-Sies, and she told us that just last week she extracted said beadsie from said three year old’s nose. Beware the beadsies with the threesies!

I must say I was amazed and impressed by the beautiful atmosphere of local family practice office!  We’d never been in before, being generally healthy and not really having a need. Several signs were up about how they seek to serve God through medicine. The exam room we were in had the fruits of the spirit on the wall, and when, at long last, the nurses/doc/tech/whatever people triumphed, one of them said (reverently, with tears in her eyes from the intensity, not in vain), “Thank you, Lord” and the other said, “Amen.”

The staff all praised him for how brave he was, and indeed I think he did pretty well for having people dig in his nose for almost an hour.

Boys! What an adventure! Watching Kieran (who doesn’t walk, but instead scales things like a mountain goat) I’m sure we have more adventures in store!

11 thoughts on “Itsy-Bead-Sie Adventure!

  1. My now 16 yodd had a penchant for doing just such things… beads in particular in eye tear duct, in nostril, and way, way down deep in her ears. We survived it all! LOL!

  2. We had a similar episode 2 summers ago with my then 2 year old boy. We were on vacation (16 hours from home) and he put a popcorn kernel up his nose. I tried to blow it out (pinch one side of his nose closed and blew into his mouth – almost like CPR) and each time he giggled and said "Do it again!". We goggled what to do and every website suggested a trip to the ER. It was a little excitement in the middle of our relaxing beach vacation. Boys! My girls never did anything like that.

  3. Same here…a little white bean up his nostril…
    They have such strange ideas these boys!
    My son also cut his eye brows time after time…I ended up doing the repair myself!
    In fact, he is a very cautious young man now!

  4. Where there's a will, there's a way! (and where there's a small, elegantly shaped orifice, it shall be stuffed!). For my brother, it was a pea…

    (:

    Warmly,
    Lori

  5. For my brother, it was a jelly bean. And we have a hilarious picture of a bald spot where he cut his own hair in the 7th grade…the day before student pictures!!

  6. Well, Nicole, I kept reminding myself to not leave myself anonymous on accident after reading your second post. Then look what I did anyway…

    Stephanie, sister to the guy who put a jelly bean up his nose at age 3

    PS–My older daughter is 3 and I can't imagine her EVER doing anything like that. I will have to watch my younger daughter, though. She's the type the wonders what will happen if she ignores Mommy's reminders to only use crayons on PAPER, and tries to apply them to other things. I'm not sure I really like field testing "washability you can trust"…

  7. I am glad to hear that your son is ok. What was it that he got stuck? I have never heard of those.
    Wow! what a great medical practice that would have all those wonderful things glorifying God. We live in the Northeast and I don't think anyone around here would have that. I would love to find a doctor that did.
    Blessings,
    Ruth

  8. The saline solution irrigation promotes good nasal health, and patients with chronic sinusitis including symptoms of facial pain, headache, halitosis, cough, anterior rhinorrhea (watery discharge) and nasal congestion often find nasal irrigation to be provide effective relief.

Leave a Reply

