Reading Posture

Kaira Reading

We tease Kaira that for math and handwriting (two subjects that must be done at the table) we might resort to duct tape to keep her in her chair.

Fortunately for her, not all her work is true seat-work. Supplemental reading for our history studies can be done wherever she chooses. “Where she chooses” is usually half in–and half out–of bed. As her bed is the top of a triple high bunk-bed, this ends up being an interesting position.

Really, we do have comfy chairs in the livingroom, love seats in the study, and even a little child-sized rocker in the girl’s room. For that matter she’d be welcome to get entirely up on the bed.

Comfy Reading

7 thoughts on “Reading Posture

  1. I've never seen a triple high bunk bed. Very neat!
    It's funny to see how the kids can be comfy… Amazing.

  2. Those are such great pictures of the children reading and learning. What a great post. It really blessed me tonight. Thanks.

  3. Oh that's too cute! (I've never seen a triple bunkbed either)…I have a reluctant reader and I think I'd be thrilled to see her independently reading ANYWHERE lol. 🙂

  4. Is there a certain position for reading? I'll have to study up on that. My children aren't sure if they want to school on the bed, at the table, on the couch, in the floor, & on & on. I guess it's a grat thing that our children aren't in public school. Could you imagine what trouble the teacher would have trying to get them to sit in a desk? Blessings, Traci

  5. That is so cute! I'm always amazed at the positions I find my children in when they are reading or doing schoolwork. I don't think I've ever seen anything like this though!

    ~Andrea

  6. Dell,

    Cute little readers, there.

    Also, is that a three shelf book shelf with baby doll quilts to make it look like a baby doll triple bunk?

    So cute!

    Lisa

  7. Neat, I also read in that same position, though I am only in a bunk bed. I have never come across anyone else who reads like that before. I also use my laptop like that. I am not sure why but I guess it must be comfortable though!

Leave a Reply

