Resurrection Traditions

About Wednesday I realized we are doing spring break this week. While we’ve done a few basics, much of our typical academics got derailed. I could have gotten everything back on track, but with Resurrection traditions to keep us occupied, I decided to just enjoy the scenery along side the tracks and get back on next week!

Today the children gathered rocks to build our tomb, which will be sealed tomorrow afternoon, and then sit solemnly until Easter morning–when the children wake and rush giggling to check it! They always act amazed to see the stone rolled away and the centurions scattered.

As we seal the tomb tomorrow, we will also shroud our house by using only minimal lighting needed to go about our tasks until Sunday dawns glorious. Although we use a few candles, and an occasional light when necessary to do our tasks, it is a dramatic difference from our usually sun bathed home. Two years ago in a blog post about our dimming the lights, I wrote the following,

“Preparing meals in a semi-dark kitchen, getting children dressed by the faint glow of a candle, and doing things without the wonder of the electric light-bulb is an inconvenience to which I’m unaccustomed. I catch myself reaching toward the light switch instinctively. (Which begs the question: In my daily life, do I reach as instinctively for The Light as I do for the light switch?) “

Just as we lead up to Christmas with advent readings, we’ve been leading up to the Resurrection for over a week now. We match our scripture reading up to the Ressurection Eggs to give us visible symbols for each event from Palm Sunday through the empty tomb. Each day we hide all the previous eggs (with the symbol tucked inside) and the “egg of the day” in additon. The children hunt, and then we open them in order, reviewing the previous eggs contents and symbolism each day by catechizing the youngest children about the contents and their significance of each. After opening the newest egg, we read the devotion, and the scripture to match.

On Sunday morning, the children check the tomb, we worship with our church family, then after a wonderful meal we celebrate with a family Resurrection basket (from the Easter Frog, of course). I don’t think we’ve ever put candy in the basket. Usually it is filled with family games, occasionally a movie, and other Timberdoodle type goodies.

Years ago we did a messianic Seder and I long to do it again, but just have somehow not gotten organized. I know that this year I could justify dong a Seder next month, as the Jewish Passover falls a full lunar cycle off from our Easter this time, but it seems so odd to have it after the Resurrection.  I like  celebrating it before,  and thinking of  Christ and the disciples partaking before the poignant events it shadows.

However you reflect on Christ’s sacrifice for us and His resurrection, may you have a blessed weekend of celebration and remembrance!

Our homemade tomb

6 thoughts on “Resurrection Traditions

  1. I really enjoyed this entry…

    Where did you get the items in the bottom picture?

    Do you mind if I link to your blog…for this entry… I just did an entry on Easter and your entry is very inspiring…

    Thanks!

  2. We made the little tomb from rocks from our own lot, and spanish moss (from HobbyLobby). Covered a piece of cardboard with moss for the base, and glue gunned it all together.

    The Centurions are Playmobil brand toy figures. I started with just one years ago (bought him on ebay) but then found a couple more to join him.

  3. Dell, I love the tomb idea. My friend suggested the "candles only" meditation for Holy Week, but I think Friday-Sunday morning is much more do-able. And hiding the eggs… that's a great idea. (We've done Resurrection eggs this week along with a day-by-day reading meditation through the Holy Week sciprtures.)
    Blessings!
    Annie

  4. Hi Dell:

    I've admired your little picture of your family down in the bottom corner of your blog so much that I used the idea for myself with my 6 children displayed. Thank you for the great idea! Now if I could only get it a tad smaller!

    Pam Langhavenslatest.blogspot.com

  5. What a wonderful idea to turn the lights down all day. I'm not sure if I can persuade my husband, though… (:

    I love the little centurions and the tomb. Do you build it new every year?

    Warmly,
    Lori

  6. "…do I reach as instinctively for The Light as I do for the light switch? " This question begs an answer in my heart! I think this would be a great lesson any time of the year! I won't wait until Easter! Thank you so much Dell!

Leave a Reply

