Defenestration Of Frogs

Defenestration of Frogs

What better Leap Day activity than leaping out of windows?

My little froggies have been reading about the Defenestration in Prague which kicked off the Thirty Years War.  In this case regents were “defenestrated” or thrown out a window.   (A very literal one seventy feet high!)  They survived, landing in horse manure.

( I should be glad the children haven’t made any mention of gathering horse manure from the neighboring pasture to add realism to their reenactments.)

Because “defenestrate” is such a cool word, the children have been using it at every available opportunity this week.  They’ve also been begging for a chance to throw something out the window.  Today, to their amazed delight, I removed the screen, grabbed a camera and let them defenestrate each other.

Which reminds me of a defenestration question that has long puzzled me: What is it about shoes along the highway?  Who defenestrates their shoes on the interstate and… why?

The Defenestration of (Prairie) Frogs:Kendra Out the Window

Kaira

The Defenestration at Prague:
Contemporary Woodcut of the 1618 Defenestration

10 thoughts on “Defenestration Of Frogs

  1. …because your 6 year old is smarter than me. I have never EVER heard the word defenestration, and furthermore, could not tell you who fought the Thirty Years War. I guess I'm a product of my public school education ;P BUT I will learn next year, when we get to that period of history 🙂 I DO know, however, who defenestrates their shoes on the highway – all those people who sit with their feet resting on the open window, and just let that be a lesson to ya' 🙂

    I'm editing this to add that I just educated myself on the War via Wikipedia, so now I don't have to wait till next year 🙂 And by the way, it looks like your froggies had fun applying what they have learned: Yea for homeschooling, and their great teacher!Edited by MamaMahnken on Friday, February 29, 2008 at 9:05 PM

  2. I must confess I have never heard that word either. What a great word! I hope no one got hurt getting that word from your window! I need to study that word and learn how to spell it. Hehe. I bet you children already know how to spell it, or at least the older ones. ;o)

  3. You have a beautiful family! And as I read the previous comments, I'm glad to see that I'm not the only one who has never heard of def… (you know what I mean. Looks a lot like deforestation!)

    As a fellow landlord, you can empathize. We've spent the day cleaning, repairing, etc, and already have an interested tenant who wants to move in immediately. Thank you God!

    Blessings to you.
    Robin

  4. Oh thank you for telling this! My dad was stationed in Brussels while I was in high school, and I had the greatest history teacher for European and American history while I was there (I used to take notes just so I could write the stories down, not for the tests, which was good because the tests were exhaustive and often he would ask questions from the stories!!!) and this was one of the stories he told (very entertainingly, I might add.) Anyway, you brought back a very good memory, and since I don't know what happened to those notebooks, I could never remember the background to the story to look it up (though I did remember the folks being chucked out the window into the manure!) Now I can read up on it again (history has been my hobby for many years because of his influence). I love the way you are infecting your kids with history! I'll have to remember it with my own when we get there (my oldest is not yet 3 and youngest is 13 months.) So much fun to look forward to! What a lovely family you have!

    Stephanie M.

Leave a Reply

