Celebrating Kendra

After a busy weekend, I’m jsut now posting pictures of Kendra’s birthday!  She has successfully turned 6 years old!  Here’s glimpses of my sweet Kendra’s evening.

She wrote out her menu and requested: Cherries, green beans, hotdogs (something we usually have once a year), and for desert a creation of her own called “Yummies”.  She helped make the buns for the hotdogs, and of course got to assist with her “Yummies”.

I made a few suggestions to the recipe she originally brought me:

Yummies:

A cake recipe by Kendra:

5 cups of chocolate chips
5 cups of flour
2 teaspoons of vanilla
2 cups of sugar
2 teaspoons of baking powder
2 eggs

½ hour in the oven

I encouraged her to decrease the chocolate chips and flour, and increase the eggs.  She agreed to adding milk and butter.  After modifications we ended up with the following:

2.5 cups chocolate chips

3 cups of flour

2 teaspoons of vanilla

2 cups sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

4 eggs

½ teaspoon salt

3/4 cup milk

1 cup butter

combine flour baking powder and salt

beat sugar, butter, vanilla & eggs (eggs one at a time)

add milk and flour alternating

stir in chocolate chips

pour into greased & floured Bundt 325 degrees for 70-80 minutes

The result was delicious!  Kendra writes excellent recipes.  It did end up a bit crumbly, so we served it in a bowl, with whipped cream atop individual servings.

3 thoughts on “Celebrating Kendra

  1. It's been a while since I blogged or visited anyone else! It sounds like you and your little ones are doing well. My five are keeping me busy. My littlest guy will be a year old next month – It went so fast!

    I had a quick question for you. A while back (I can't remember when) you mentioned a way to catalog your many books that involved a hand-held device to scan them (I think – it's pretty vague) and then download them into your computer. What program was that? I'd really like to do that with all of the books I have!Edited by MarlaMom on Tuesday, January 15, 2008 at 7:41 PM

  2. Happy Birthday Everyone!!! Hope you all had a marvelous birthday.
    How is the new schedule working out? I have been saying we were going to start our schedule up again, but for some reason, we just haven't gotten to it yet. I really need to buckle down and get started on it though. Our schedule has always worked great for us, giving us lenient time to have on our hands.
    I'll stop by again soon, Blessings, Traci

Leave a Reply

