Renaissance Odds and Ends on the Coffee Table

We are wrapping up some remaining Renaissance studies, Royalty and Explorers, primarily.

I did throw in a few other fun windows on the era, such as our read aloud, I, Juan de Pareja.  What a wonderful book!  Through the eyes of Juan, a black slave to Spanish painter Diego Velazquez, the canvas of this era is painted in a sensitive light, with masterful strokes, and unique perspective.  It is a gem for a wide range of ages, and is within grasp of Kaira and Kendra, yet I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it to my parents, and am enjoying it myself.

Here are the girls, playing at painter, inspired by Juan de Pareja  .  When I surprised them with the camera in the playroom, Kaira was being the artist and Kendra the subject.  Soon after they switched roles.  (Apparently the model gets to read to prevent boredom.)

And, the finished portraits:

In other news our new schedule is going well thus far!  I’ve been rising at 6:30, not 6:00 though, and skipping the exercise slot.  Bad Dell!  I do hope to work in within a week or two as I acclimate.

A few years ago I wouldn’t have thought I’d ever schedule to 15 minute intervals!  But then, until this year it wasn’t necessary, and I could afford a loose routine.  Somehow though as the older girls have begun doing more involved work, and we’ve added more children to the mix, it became necessary.  What would have been a burden and hindrance  in the past, now gives our days  needed and beautiful orchestration.

2 thoughts on “Renaissance Odds and Ends on the Coffee Table

  1. Ooo, I read Juan de Pareja last year (just for myself, LOL) and loved it! I can't wait till my girls are ready for it. Dick Whittington is on my list too, do you like that one? Just wondering! And I'm loving that perriwinkle prairiefrog playroom! love, VeronicaEdited by MamaMahnken on Friday, January 4, 2008 at 11:48 PM

Leave a Reply

