Galileo’s Trumpet?

I handed five year old Kendra a book; Starry Messenger: Galileo Galilei, and sent her off to read.  Soon she was back to give her oral narration.   To my surprise she said, “Galileo learned that the earth wasn’t the center of the universe when he went outside to play his trumpet.”

Trumpet?

Galileo played trumpet? I listened to the rest of her sweet and precise narration, then admitted that the trumpet part confused me a bit. Offering to show me the trumpet paragraph, she bounded off to get the book.

Soon she was back, having found the intriguing trumpet reference.  The book stated that Galileo went outside, pointed his instrument up to the sky, and made his discovery.   When I asked how she knew it was a trumpet, she was confident, “Well, you don’t lift a piano up to the sky.  Violins you pick up, but you point them more to the side.  Flutes too.  It HAD to be a trumpet.”   Yes, obviously it would be a trumpet!  Good deductive reasoning and process of elimination make trumpet a logical assumption!

So, we talked about non-musical instruments, such as our microscope.

It demonstrates a good reason to do narrations or discussion even when the child is a good independent reader.  Sometimes they get interesting notions about things.

7 thoughts on “Galileo’s Trumpet?

  1. I love it! When my kids show good reasoning and logic like that, I almost hate to correct them, even gently. Now I'm off to add that book to my Amazon wishlist… 🙂 Blessings, Veronica

  2. Dell, I wish I lived next door to you. Not only could I learn all kinds of things from you, your children are so delightful!

  3. I didn't know Galileo had a trumpet? They kids minds work these days is so amazing, yet funny at the same time. Some times that acctually think of things I would never dream of. Well have to go.
    ~Sarah

Leave a Reply

