Of seasons in Brazil, and other things…

A friend on a message board suggested we ask our children if they know what season it is in the southern hemisphere.  I asked them all separately: Kaira and Kendra both thought for a moment and answered, “Spring”.   Very good… now to ask Keianna…

Keegan and Keianna don’t even understand hemispheres, but Keianna knows about quite a few other countries, so I asked her, “What season is it in Brazil.”  With confident assurance she replied, “Cinnamon!”  I didn’t even try asking Keegan.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

In other schoolish news: For handwriting today I printed out a question/answer page for Kaira.  I left blank lines after each question for her to write her answers in complete sentences.  Some of her responses were rather.. unique.   Her life goals could maybe use some work, me thinks?

What is your name?

My name is Kaira.

What is your favorite vegetable?
My favorite vegetable is corn.

What country do you most wish to visit?

Whatever country is most mysterious.

What can you do well?
I can yell, “Boom” well.

What do you want to learn to do better?
I would like to find more ways to scare Kendra.

Why do you think the sky is blue?

Without the sun there would not be colors.  There are color waves.  I guess that blue is the color wave that goes in the sky.

10 thoughts on “Of seasons in Brazil, and other things…

  1. We are studying South America right now ~ mainly Brazil. The guide suggests making some food that is traditional in Brazil, so we searched for their traditional meal and found the name… some kind of bean soup mash… can't remember the name of it off-hand. We were so excited, until we read the ingredients on the web, which included pig ears, snout, knuckles, and TAIL.
    ahem…gag.
    So, we're eating beef burritos and chocolate chip cookies.
    :o)
    ~KH

  2. I wonder where Keianna got that answer? And I love how Kaira answerd the "Blue sky" question.
    I have been visiting your blog for some time now but never left a comment because I didn't have a blog, until now and I would like to be friends is that ok?
    -Sarah

  3. Hi woman! MY favorite, if I had to pick, is "I want to learn to scare Kendra better," although "Cinnamon" is a very close second. And you don't OWE me anything, but if you'd like to send a qucik email or comment on my blog I'd love to hear from you again. AND I can't believe no one else asked, so I will: what did you use for the keys on your piano cake (which I loved by the way)? I'm guessing (white) chocolate bars? love Veronica

  4. KH, wow! That sounds like some of the stuff served grilled/cooked "asada" in Uruguay. They used everything. No waste, I guess. I don't blame you for switching to beans and rice!

    Sarah, Sure! I'll add you to the friend's list. 🙂 I'm Eager to read your blog! (I wonder if Keianna was thinking seasoning, not seasons? I'm not sure though what she was thinking. I can't keep up with her unique but active brain!

    Veronica: Hi back at ya. 😉 You guessed right on the piano keys. If you google betty crocker piano cake, you'll see how to do it. (It is easy, which is nice, because I'm NOT great at cakes!)

  5. I found your blog several weeks ago while researching homeschooling methods and options…but I have never commented. I just wanted to thank you, as so many of your posts have been extremely helpful!!
    And, as time and a 2-year-old allows :), I have enjoyed the brief glimpses into your school days, and your precious family.
    I have to agree with your Keianna – "Cinnamon Season" is my favorite too!! I am currently burning cinnamon stick scented candles throughout the house! 🙂
    By His Grace,
    Veronica 🙂
    http://www.thewhitleyfamily.net

  6. Love your kids comments. Maybe she said "Boom" really loudly during the 1 minute of noise she was allowed and impressed herself! (: It really looks perfect for a sewing basket. Now if I had a basket that cute, I might even try to overcome my previous disasters and try sewing again!

    Warmly,
    LoriEdited by Lori on Monday, November 12, 2007 at 12:32 AM

Leave a Reply

