Baking up a storm!

Mmmm!  The house smells good!  The Craisy Almond Bread (With Craisins and Cinnamon) is hot from the oven.  I’ve been busy baking, as we will have several rounds of guests, and a few birthday celebrations coming up in the busy week ahead!

Of course, there were the usual batches of bread, and some Russian black bread too.   I already mentioned the pound cake…  We finally got a workable recipe (and figured out the right size) for hamburger buns.  We’ve tried a few times over the years, but couldn’t get the size and shape quite right.  I think we managed it this time!  We did a huge batch of  yummy AND healthful cookies.  And finally, no baking fest is complete without a big batch of gooey brownies.

I didn’t take a picture of the Russian bread or our regular bread.

Brownies and Craisy Bread

Browines and Craisy bread

Honey Oat Cookies

Honey, I love you cookies!

Hamburger Buns Ken made!

Ken's buns!

And, goop to hot oil and herbalize Kaira’s hair after she got a 4inch health trim.

(It is still nearly to her waist, just two inches above instead of two inches below.)  It made lovely green slime, and was quite fun!

Kaira Hair treatment

8 thoughts on “Baking up a storm!

  1. I almost bought some of that slime from the bulkherbstore, but I didn't know if it would work well or not. Does it work? Are you pleased with the results? Of course, Kaira probably has that fabulous, young, healthy hair to begin with, but did you notice a difference?

    Cool spoon, by the way :o)

    Have a wonderful time in this "busy season", and thanks again for the wonderful Corgi information. It went into my big idea notebook~!
    ~Heather

  2. That looks like a lot of work to make all of that. How do you do it? Where do you fit it in your routine? Also, I love the pans. I am afraid of aluminum. Are those stainless steel? Where do you get them? Excuse me for all the questions, but I would love to be so productive in my cooking so as to bake such a large amount of food to save time during the week.

  3. YUMMMM! I never even thought about making our own hamburger buns – what a fabulous idea! You food pics made me hungry, but I was really looking for a picture of goopy gooey Kiara! Or maybe an "after" picture? Anything? 🙂 Loved the ones of your pantry bandit last post too! Blessings, Veronica

  4. How are you doing? It has been a long time since I have dropped by to say hello too long in fact.

    I really hope you and your family are doing well. I love your pics of your family – these are lovely.

    You have been very busy baking as well – I am getting hungry :lol.

    Take care and hope to catch up with you soon.
    hugs
    Page

    p.s. I am going to be removing the blog from homeschool blogger in the next few days so I am still over at Homestead Blogger and Blogspot now also x

  5. The big brownie pan (to answer momofsix) is actually a stainless steel lasagna pan. I don't remember where it came from. I think it was a wedding gift 12+ years ago! I bake my bread in Norpro "high quality tinware" pans. I tried Norpro stainless steel, but they didn't seem to come out as nicely. LOVE the tinware. How do I have time? Well Ken did 1/2 the baking, including all the hamburger buns and the brownies. I did the breads, and we all worked together on the cookies, although I sluffed a lot nursing Kieran, etc, and Ken and the girls did most of that…

    I liked the slime from the bulk herb store, but it is a bit like "stone soup". You know the story, where the peddler says he can make soup with "JUST a stone" but then kinda prods the peasants that it would be even better with a pinch of this or a dash of that… soon all the soup ingredients are added, and then he brags that the STONE was the main ingredient?

    Well, the eggs, olive oil, lavender, rosemary, and stuff are all fabulous for hair by themselves, so the herbs from the bulkherbstore that are added to the goo are probably a bit of "icing on the cake".

    And I'm laughing, Veronica because I DID take pictures with the goo and bag on her head, but decided Kaira might come after me in later years if I post them on the blog! *laugh*

  6. Hello Dell,

    As always, I so enjoy reading your entries !! I haven`t had much time lately to comment (we`ve recently celebrated the birth of our 5th and I haven`t been on the computer as much as I`d like).

    I was wondering if you could share the hair conditioner recipe that you used for your daughter.Is it a deep conditioner, what are its benefits (shine, moisture, etc…???). Maybe it would be something we could try here at home too.

    Many Blessings,
    Lisa (SimpleAtHeart)

Leave a Reply

