Taming the Chaos ~ Can You Afford Not To?

Obviously we can’t do it all, but there are some things that we can’t afford to slight.

Taking time for prayer and scripture is obviously essential. We need to keep our hearts and spirits focused for everything else to fall into place.

After feeding our spirit, meeting the basic needs of our physical body should be obvious. Foolishly, however, I am a slow learner in this area. Too often I’m in too much of a hurry to eat a proper meal, only to pay for it later in the day as I begin to feel queasy from hunger, or cost myself time blundering in a light-headed daze.

Are you too busy to get a full night’s sleep? Lately I’ve been going to bed later and later. There is always one more load of laundry, or a few more printouts to make, or…the list goes on. It is counterproductive of me to stay up until midnight planning our school day. My great planning is for naught when exhaustion sabotages my effectiveness as mommy and teacher.

Another trap I fall prey to is in thinking, “I don’t have time to exercise.” A good half-hour work-out, when done consistently, improves my efficiency ten fold! Without exercise, I’m sluggish and languid, wasting huge amounts of time. Usually my real reason isn’t lack of time, but laziness.

Sometimes it is training the children that gets slighted in the day-to-day rush. If you are constantly putting out fires, or running yourself ragged cleaning up after children who are old enough to pick up after themselves, then letting other things slide to focus on training would be a wise investment.

Perhaps bedtime stories have been dropped from the routine, and your children are missing that special snuggle time. Sometimes in these busy years we need a reminder that childhood is precious and fleeting.

The list would be different for each of us, and different in different seasons.   What do you NOT have time not to do?

(Cross-posted from my Taming The Chaos column on the Homeschool Blogger Front Porch)

Leave a Reply

