The comedy of the muffins

After just five hours of sleep I got up early to make some muffins, wanting to feed everyone a nutritious, but quick-to-eat breakfast before our 8:15 appointments at the ophthalmologist.

After putting the first few ingredients in the blender, I realized we were out of eggs. No problem, we’ll pick some up on the way home from the appointment and wait to have muffins for lunch.

I switched gears and served smoothies and granola for breakfast.

The eye appointments took much longer than expected (3 hours!) And so afterward, Ken dropped the rest of us off at home and went to buy the eggs while I nursed Kieran.

Ken arrives home with eggs.

I fix the muffins, and upon removing them from the oven, realize they don’t look quite right.

Looking at them, It dawns on me that I left something out.

It wasn’t salt, and it wasn’t baking powder. Yes, I left out the eggs.

Ken laughed good-naturedly, and and everyone ate them despite the lacking ingredient.  (An ingredient Ken made a special trip to procure.)

9 thoughts on “The comedy of the muffins

  1. Hi,
    I am new to your blog and have loved reading it and looking back. You and your family sound wonderful….love all the pictures you post.
    Blessings,
    Cathy

  2. Thank you so much for your kind comment on my blog. Actually, I did end up borrowing a scale from my mom for the decluttering; now I just have to find time to do it!

    I love your muffin story; sounds like something I would do!

    The picture on my blog is public domain. It's a copyright-free picture that I got here:
    http://karenswhimsy.com/public-domain-images/copyright-free-pictures/copyright-free-pictures-1.htm

    It looks like it was scanned from a book – it makes me think of a book of fairy tales or children's poems. I cropped the picture to remove a subtitle and made it more load-time friendly before I put it on my blog. There are a lot of great images at that website, all of them public domain.

    ~Andrea

  3. Oh my… that is funny. Your family was very sweet to eat them anyway! Mine probably would have too.. my children will eat just about anything.

  4. I've left out yeast from pizza dough before! And salt from other things…I think it was bread:) It's a tru sign of having a busy day!

  5. So glad to know I'm not the only one that's left out ingredients. Just FYI, next time you are out of eggs, here is an easy substitute.
    This is equal to one egg, so just multiply as many times as you need…
    1 1/2 tablespoons of your choice of oil
    1 1/2 tablespoons of water
    1 teaspoon of baking powder

    whisk to combine and pour immediately into recipe.

    I've used this in pancakes, waffles, cake, and muffins and have never had a problem.

  6. Do you think that nursing drains away some brain cells? 🙂 I'm still nursing Logan and feel like I have attention deficit disorder!

Leave a Reply

