The Martha Washington Perspective

Martha Washington didn’t really relish the role of being the 1st first lady, in fact she confided in her niece,  “I think I am more like a state prisoner than anything else, there is certain bounds set for me which I must not depart from…”

Yet, she made the best of it, writing to a friend, “I am still determined to be cheerful and happy, in whatever situation I may be; for I have also learned from experience that the greater part of our happiness or misery depends upon our dispositions, and not upon our circumstances.”

The 2nd quotation (about happiness and misery depending much on ourselves) was featured on the children’s Learning Calendar yesterday. (Click here to see the entry online, and follow links to learn more.)

I’m amazed at what the children are picking up from the Learning Calendar!  Kendra especially can always tell me when various holidays are.  (She knows which day Father’s day falls on and reminded me about Memorial Day recently!  Thanks to the Learning Calendar, she’s a very useful child to have around when I’m having a brain fog moment in the middle of writing a check!)

They are learning, and often, I learn too!  Martha Washington’s wisdom rings true indeed!  Certainly  much depends upon a red wheel barrow glazed with rain water beside the white chickens, and on our own dispositions.

5 thoughts on “The Martha Washington Perspective

  1. That Martha Washington quote reminds me of what Paul wrote in Philippians 4:11
    “… for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content.”

    I mean to cast no aspersions on your living in 'Wyoming.

    Grumpy Dave

  2. We have the learning calendar also and it has been a WONDERFUL resource in our home. Usually on Saturday or Sunday, Jerald will read ahead for the week and then he spends some time finding books from our library to go along with whatever tidbits he learned from the calendar.

  3. Great quote. It reminded me of what Paul wrote, too. We have adopted that verse as one of our military family verses.
    Thank you for sharing the link to the calendar. We had one of those one year and really enjoyed it. I wasn't sure where to find another one.
    And I love how I learn, too, right along with my children. Homeschooling has so many blessings!

    Thank you for your comment. The picture of the shepherdess was a sweet gift from a friend that understood how I treasure being the Mama Shepherd.

    ~ Christina
    http://hskubes.blogspot.com

  4. I need to heed that wisdom myself.

    I need to get one of those calendars! Mary just loves things like that.

Leave a Reply

