Dancing the morning away!

The big girls had a special treat today. A Dalcroze instructor from Colorado came up to play with the children in our Suzuki piano studio. They had a grand time with movement, dance and music!

I really wasn’t sure what to expect, as some of the online descriptions of Dalcroze made it sound rather bizarre.  I ended up very impressed at the way it combined movement with creativity, music theory, analysis, tone training, and so many other cognitive functions.

It would be the ideal physical education for the children in our family–if there was an instructor locally.

The children had a grand time, and it was definitely a worthwhile experience. Next time I’ll also take the camera to capture their movement.

2 thoughts on “Dancing the morning away!

  1. Sounds like you had a good experience. If I weren’t so busy home educating my children, I bet I’d be busy becomoing a Dalcrozian. I had only one week of training and thought it was amazing. I thought it seemed like the real deal and an excellent companion to Suzuki lessons.

  2. ooohhh… a little jealous! I looked into that here in the boonies… Would have to travel over an hours to find a Suzuki teacher.

    But the Lord has blessed us with a piano teacher less than 5 minutes away. (We are in the boonies!) She is the pianist for her local church. My dd does get top lay a GRAND piano once a week. LUCKY! Ü But Suzuki… count your blessing DELL!!

    Jennifer

Leave a Reply

