Kaira’s birthday

We like simple, quiet celebrations.  The birthday child gets to choose the meal, either homemade or restaurant.  Children are so unpredictable.  Most years they choose something homemade, and often enjoy helping with the preparation.  Last year, Kaira choose lobster, and had a rather elegant meal at home.  This year she choose the McDonalds playland.

In addition to the dress I made for her, we gave her a Priscilla Mullins book and Doll dress.  She has been fascinated with the pilgrims for months, and specifically requested Pilgrim books for presents.  I’ve collected some other pilgrim books for her to read, but they are household property, not birthday presents–This book is hers.  (Although knowing my sweet Kaira, she will share!  In fact all the children enjoyed it as a bedtime story tonight.)

Recently the children enjoyed a rare treat of a Disney movie at Grandma and Grandpa’s house–Bambi.  Soon afterward, Kaira hinted at wanting something Bambi for birthday or Christmas.  Suspecting she would soon outgrow the Bambi fascination, but seeing how much she enjoys playing with her other Schleich animals (especially the sheep and horses), we hoped this little deer family would fit the bill.  It certainly did!  Upon opening them she immediately saw them as Bambi and family.

Kaira predicts and reflects: “Being seven is going to be fun!  Being six was fun, but it was hard work.”

7 thoughts on “Kaira’s birthday

  1. I have decided to take up Kaira’s saying… being 37 is going to be fun! Being 36 was hard work! LOL! Cute pictures! What joy and sweetness are on her face!

  2. You did a beautiful job on the dress. I only wish I were brave enough to take up such a challenge. I hope you don’t mind, but I found your blog through a random search and after reading some of your posts I added you to my friends list. That way I can continue to read your blog. I am new to so many things having only given my life to the Lord back in April and becoming a sahm in May. Not to mention that I live in an area without many like-minded families so I enjoy reading about families who share similar beliefs.
    Thanks, Love, & Blessings,
    (: Amanda 🙂

  3. Dell, you are doing a smashing job of educating and training your children. What a wonderful slate of birthday gifts for your oldest! You both inspire and challenge me. Keep it up!

  4. Happy Birthday Kaira! Looks like a grand celebration and I'm sure seven will be fun!!! My Jerald is here and says I should tell you that on our way home today, we watched a family of deer searching for food in an open field. They were beautiful!Edited by mom2rebels on Saturday, November 4, 2006 at 4:17 PM

  5. Hope she enjoyed her special day. I love the dress you sewed. You are quite talented, I have always wanted to learn how to sew…someday….

    I love visiting your blog, you have such a lovely family.

  6. It is so hard to believe you are seven already! 🙂 When I first met your mommy, you were four. Time goes so fast. It looks like you had a wonderful birthday. I pray that this coming year will be lots of fun, not too much work, and a great time for continued growth as a daughter of our King! love, adrienne 🙂

  7. Hi,
    I found your blog by a random search too. I was looking for reviews on the Beautiful Girlhood books. That was so nice that your daughter got one on the pilgrims for her birthday. Congrats on the dress, it looks great. Thanks for sharing pictures of your beautiful family. God bless you all.

Leave a Reply

