If I were a rich mom…

If I were a rich mom,
Ya ha deedle deedle, bubba bubba deedle deedle dum…
…If I were a wealthy mom…

(Sung to a Fiddler on the Roof tune)

My children have enjoyed a few Schleich animals (mostly sheep, due to my eldest’s interest…er um…obsession with them.)  The Schelich animals are such better quality than the other molded animals, and seem so much more life-like in their expressions.  Today I was browsing online (dangerous business) and came across their World of Knights series!  We NEED this for our Middle Ages study coming up!   Ok, we don’t need it, but WOW!  The $120 castle is just not going to happen, but I think I may try to fit a few figures into our budget somehow.  It is um… an educational expense, right?  The individual figures are really quite reasonable if I keep it to three or four of them.

 

 

We aren’t to the Middle Ages yet, but are just entering Ancient Greece… Stay tuned to find out what is on our coffee table.

5 thoughts on “If I were a rich mom…

  1. Yes! That was my plan exactly. Have you been reading my mind?

    Right now, though I’m on the hunt for something the boys can use to build barns and castle and forts with. I don’t want to spend $100 plus dollars on a prebuilt barn and a castle, etc. Don’t really want to use Legos for this. Was thinking Lincoln Logs or something similar, but it appears structures built from these don’t stay together well enough for the kiddos to play with them.

    Have you had any thoughts along these lines? If you come up with something, I would love to hear about it.

    Tina (Hearthkeepers)

  2. I’m wiping the drool off the desk now that DH has looked at those. Guess we’ll need those for studying the Middle Ages, too. If we collect them for five years, it shouldn’t be too bad!

  3. My children enjoy these too, especially the two younger ones. We don’t have the castle either, it’s lovely though. Think of it as an investment. A “toy” like that is going to last right through to your grandchildren. And yes, imaginative play can definitely be counted as school. Have a great weekend
    Becky

  4. My boys just love these knights too! Boy 1 dreams of having that castle! Maybe for Christmas?

    Congratulations on your upcoming blessing! Be sure and put it on the HSB baby calendar!

    Abiding in the Vine!

Leave a Reply

