Abecedarian resources

Cheryl commented yesterday asking about the medium used for Keianna’s most recent letter.  (The letter “C” happens to be decorated in little confetti hearts that I found lurking in the bottom of my craft drawer.)

I’m sure the possibilities are endless, but I kept a list on file after my eldest did hers.  Somehow I just knew that without a list I would once again be stumped, wondering, “What shall we glue to the X?” Here are things I’ve used for my little abecedarians in previous years:

  • Rice
  • Sand
  • Cotton Balls
  • Sequins
  • Confetti
  • Pipe Cleaner Bits
  • Pistachio Nut Shells
  • Packing Peanuts
  • Excelsior
  • Curly Ribbon (Curl it first, then cut into short pieces)
  • Stars (cut with a craft punch from pretty paper)
  • Dried Beans (This one can get heavy for hanging on the wall)
  • Mini Clothes Pins
  • Aluminum Foil bits
  • Pencil Shavings
  • Paper Clips
  • Dried Floral/Potpourri
  • Popcorn (popped or unpopped)
  • Beads
  • Feathers
  • Pom Poms
  • Maccaroni
  • Plastic Bag Bits (Like walmart bags.. we used one that was a blue color)
  • Brown paper bag bits
  • Glitter
  • Colored Cotton Balls
  • Newsprint Bits
  • Soda Can tabs
  • Sponge Bits
  • Foam shapes (craft foam)

Once I even used pieces of a torn vinyl shower curtain.

Cheryl also wondered where to find an upper and lower case puzzle.  I can no longer remember where I purchased ours, but it is a Melissa & Doug just like this one at LiveandLearn.com (scroll down the page to see the puzzle). It is also sold by Amazon.

4 thoughts on “Abecedarian resources

  1. Thanks so much for sharing your ideas! With this list, I am confident in beginning this project with my pre-schooler, knowing that I won’t come to a screeching halt in the middle of the alphabet due to a lack of creative juices. 😉
    Bless you for sharing!
    ~Cheryl

  2. Thanks so much for sharing your ideas! With this list, I am confident in beginning this project with my pre-schooler, knowing that I won’t come to a screeching halt in the middle of the alphabet due to a lack of creative juices. 😉
    Bless you for sharing!
    ~Cheryl

  3. Do you hand print the letters that Keianna fills in…or did you locate them on the internet? I have looked around a bit, but have only found letters with corresponding pictures so far.
    By all the questions I am asking, you might assume that I am a first time homeschooler. On the contrary, we are beginning our 16th year! I have two married children who are homeschool grads, a daughter beginning 8th grade, and a daughter entering Kindergarten. I guess I am just detail driven! And I admire your creative ideas and the dedication you have to your young ones’ education!

    Thanks,
    Cheryl…who just ordered an upper case/lower case puzzle!

Leave a Reply

