Pyramids on the Coffee Table

As our chronological journey through history will take us to Ancient Egypt this next week, there are pyramids on the coffee table!  (Or books about the pyramids at least.)

Modern Rhymes About Ancient Times: Ancient Egypt by Susan Altman and Susan Lechner: (This one is SO fun!)

The Usborne Time Traveller Book of Pharaohs and Pyramids by Tony Allan : (Chock-full of information: Usborne Style!)

Growing Up in Ancient Egypt by Rosalie David: (Fascinating glimpses into Egyptian family life.)

Pepi and the Secret Names by Jill Paton Walsh and Fiona French: (Picture Book Story–I think Kendra will especially enjoy this one.)

Tut’s Mummy: Lost and Found by Judy Donnelley: (An excellent “Step into Reading” book–easy to read but not “dumbed down”)

Egypt in Spectacular Cross Section by Stephen Biest: (Amazingly detailed illustrations give an indepth look at Egyption pyramids, dwellings, the harbor, the Nile… )

The Golden Goblet by Eloise Jarvis McGraw: (Well deserving of it’s Newberry award.  An novel rich with intrigue set in Ancient Egypt.  This might be a little beyond my Kaira conceptually, but I decided that it would be fine for her to read (should it capture her interest) as long as we discuss it chapter-by-chapter together.)

And… one recommendation that is not on our coffee table this time through history: The Cat of Bubastes: A Tale of Ancient Egypt by G.A. Henty: (Henty is still a few years beyond my young scholars, but this book is a must read.)

3 thoughts on “Pyramids on the Coffee Table

  1. Those look great. I read The Golden Goblet with my mom when she homeschooled me! I remember that it was so good we didn’t want to put it down. 🙂

  2. Thanks! I can see some I’ll definitely be looking for.

    I just read a really interesting book on Egyptian myths. A little more than I would read to kids under 10 or so, but it helped me understand things like the Ten Plagues so much better. The Egyptian tales are full of dueling magicians and who has the most secret knowledge and the most powerful gods.

Leave a Reply

