Teetering on Stilettos

We've all seen the teen who recently discovered cosmetics. She thinks she's ever so mature. Smugly oblivious to the foundation line under her chin and the lipstick on her front teeth, she casts a snide look to her “childish” friends–mere infants in lip-gloss and low-healed pumps. 

 

From her swaying perch atop stiletto heals, she can easily look down on those who haven't reached her heights of maturity.

 

Later on, as she ices her ankle and wipes away mascara smudges, perhaps she will realize that her less glitzy friends aren't missing out on much. In fact, they may be more mature after all.

 

Sometimes we act like this in the Christian Walk.  I cringe when I hear someone say, “Ah, but we are all at different places in our spiritual journey.”  While the fact is true, we ARE all at different places in our walk, too often the implication is that the others just haven't reached their same level of enlightenment.

 

Several times I've heard people make that statement, then years later they come full circle. First they contend that a Christian really should do things ABC way; Later they decide that more MATURE Christians really should see clearly that XYZ is better; Ultimately they return to ABC, realizing that XYZ just 'overdone makeup' all along.

 

The teen diva with her gummy mascara thinks she is much more mature than her younger sister who wears only a touch of lip gloss.

 

Seest thou a man wise in his own conceit? There is more hope of a fool than of him. Proverbs 26:12

 

Oops… Excuse me, I'll be back in a moment… I think I have lipstick on my teeth…

10 thoughts on “Teetering on Stilettos

  1. Great post! I’ve observed that there tends to be a ‘trend’ in over-complicating, over-decorating, over-make-uping the simplicity of faith in Christ. What a shame when we pile on that spiritual ‘make-up’ just to remove it when we’re alone or at home, not having to ‘show face’. The make-overs need to lie within. Your post brought a verse to mind that I wanted to share…
    2 Corinthians 11:3 ~ “But I fear, lest by any means, as the serpent beguiled Eve through his subtilty, so your minds should be corrupted from the simplicity that is in Christ.”
    I wonder how often our minds, thoughts, and perceptions are truly led away from the simplicity of faith in Christ.

    By the way, thank you for signing my blog. We are having a wonderful time watching our pet barnacles eat. It fascinates how God made such a creature!

    Have a blessed day and weekend.
    ~ Christina
    http://www.homeschoolblogger.com/hskubes

  2. Great post!! Thanks for sharing it. I agree with the other poster about seeking to publish it. It IS that good!

  3. A great analogy. Very good for women to relate to. And teenage girls, as well.
    I am still in low pumps and lip gloss!! I think you have made a good point, and as a people watcher as well as being a little more new at living for the Lord than some, I see this often AND continually. It is rather discouraging, and I really do let it get to me. I pray that some people that need to hear this read it, I know the Lord will use it to His advantage.
    (ps…my blog is up and running, but a work in progress!!! I’m so clueless, but I’m learning from Jamie. She got me to wear I am, and showed me how to goof around in the template, so SOON I will be there, soon…….)
    http://www.abrightnewdawn.blogspot.com

  4. Great post!

    And I LOVE that cute pic of Keianna! She is so adorable!

    ~Off to wipe lipstick off my teeth.;)

    Love,
    Kristy

  5. You make a very good point here, and I agree with several of your other commentors, that you need to publish this. Many of us could learn alot from you.

    Thanks for sharing!

    LadyPoet33

Leave a Reply

