Tammy’s Millet Breakfast

Waaaaaaay back in December I’d posted about the unexplained quantities of millet in my pantry.  I even did a follow up explaining what millet is, with a picture and everything. But, until this morning, I’d made no further progress on actually using the millet. 

Tammy commented on  one of my millet posts and suggested making hot cereal! 

Posted by Tammy
Dell, millet is a delicious breakfast cereal. It takes just 20 minutes to cook. You can put a little butter in the pan, and slightly brown the millet before you cook it, but it isn’t necessary. For each cup of millet, use two cups of water. Bring to a boil, then let simmer. You should stir it a few times while it is cooking.

Finally this morning I made up a batch, drizzled it with honey, and poured on a bit of cream… mmmm!  I browned it in butter first, as per Tammy’s instructions, so it had little bit of a nutty texture.  The children enjoyed it too.  (Keegan ate a remarkable quantity, and Kaira and Kendra both asked for seconds.)

 

Anyway, a belated thank you to Tammy for this breakfast treat!  It took me a few months to get around to trying it, but it is sure to become a new favorite!  (Clicking on Tammy’s name will take you to her blogspot blog.)

4 thoughts on “Tammy’s Millet Breakfast

  1. I haven’t made millet in a long time…my hubby isn’t as fond of it as I am! 🙂 I don’t think I have any, but I think I should get some soon. It makes a good, healthy, hearty breakfast!

  2. Hi! Thanks for visiting my blog…and I’m glad to find yours! I am in awe of all of you breakfast-cooking people. I just have a very hard time cooking until I have been verticle for several hours. My deprived children get things like cold cereal or peanut butter toast. :o) They think eggs and pancakes are just something we have for dinner every once in a while.

Leave a Reply

