The Pantry

Cleaning day has come again, and with it my weekly “Nooks and Crannies” project. Last week I knew I should do the pantry, but tackled the less foreboding tupperware cupboard instead. (I liked Kelly’s term for theirs–the ‘avalanche cupboard.’)

 

This week, I did the dreaded pantry! It had become a jumbled mess! I think the last time I fully redid it was before Keegan was born. It is SO nice to have it organized and scrubbed down again! I keep opening the door just to gaze inside and admire my work.  Keegan, however, is disappointed. His favorite playroom was the pantry and now things aren’t as accessible to him. Seeing the pantry door open, he scooted in, looking around for his special toy–a can of V-8. He loves that can of V-8. He rolls it, chews on the rim, smashes imaginary bugs with it, and plays hide-and-seek with it.  Now he can't find it in the new organizational scheme. Poor Keegan!

 

It has been a busy day, I also did surgery on Kaira’s special doll, Kalissa. (Yes, even the dolls have K names.)   I should have repaired all four of her limb joints when her leg came off several months ago, but for some reason I didn’t fix one of the arms.  Sure enough, the arm I’d left alone needed repair. If your daughter has a Goetz Precious Day, a Vision Forum doll, or an American Girl doll in need of such surgery, here's a site with a pictoral guide to restringing. The author of the doll repair article is Taffy Cheerful.  Her name reminds me of Truly Scrumptious in Chitty-Chitty Bang Bang.

 

At any moment Ken’s dad and Mary (Ken's step mom) will arrive for dinner.  It is time for the girls to scrub the potatoes while I get the side dishes ready. 

5 thoughts on “The Pantry

  1. Isn’t it great how children can play with such benign items? I once watched a baby girl play with a whole walnut (in shell) and a cup. She played with it for an hour, putting the nut in the cup, dumping it out, covering the nut with the cup, shaking the nut in the cup and on and on it went. I don’t know why people think children need such fancy toys today.

    Abiding in the Vine!

  2. I stare at my work too. Glad to know I’m not alone. My hubby and kids think I am strange that I keep pointing out the areas that I cleaned that day. Don’t get me wrong, I clean. But there are some days where I CLEAN. Those are the days that make me proud.

  3. OOOOOOOH! Frazzled minds think alike! LOL! I organized my pantry, changed out the stuff from one cabinet and put them into another, and did some of that “furniture moving therapy” that PG indulges in from time to time too. LOL

    Now if I could just tackle my CLOSET! 😮

    😉

  4. why is it, with gentle children like ours (giggle), are we having to fix broken arms and legs on $100 dolls?!??! GRR. You remember how one of the girls dolls arms broke? Well, a few months later, the other wee one’s doll got dismembered. SIGH. Not long after that, a leg decided to wander off. Seriously, they lose limbs just SITTING there. Wonder what NORMAL play would do to the poor things?

Leave a Reply

