Undecorating and Mashed Potatoes

Yesterday was busy, as we finished sewing some jumpers and took down the Christmas decorations. We usually “undecorate” within a day or two of the 1st of the year, but with our post-Christmas trip to South Dakota, we were delayed this year. After we finished our undecorating, we celebrated with sparkling cider. Are your Christmas decorations still up?  Do you do anything special to make taking them down less anti-climactic?

 

As much as I love Christmas, it was nice to return our home to its “normal”, restful, more sparse, decor. (And it will be a treat come December to transform it into a wonderland once again!) 

 

I'm posting my Freezer Mashed Potato Recipe for Sagerats who had left a comment the other day asking how I freeze them without it thawing out watery and runny. I think the secret may be the eggs and cream cheese. This recipe is my own adaptation, but I think I “springboarded” from something in one of my Freezer Cookbooks–possibly one of Jill Bond's?

Mashed potato casserole
Great as a side or stir in cubed ham, chicken, turkey or leftover steak  for a main dish.  Freezes GREAT!

1 large (huge) casserole, or 2-3 small
5 lbs potatoes (If you use the red ones, they don’t need peeling, and make it look pretty!)
1 egg
1 tsp minced garlic
3 T butter
1 t salt
2t parsley
8 oz cream cheese
1 Tbs or so cream
Top with Paprika or Mozzarella cheese

Assembly:
Clean, quarter and boil potatoes.
When cooled enough, drain and remove potatoes to mixer bowl. Add eggs, cream cheese, butter and seasonings.
Mix with whisks (electric mixer–I use a Bosh, but use whatever you've got!) until the desired lumpyness. (We like ours fairly lumpy)
Add a Tablespoon of milk/cream or so as necessary to reach desired consistency.
Soon into greased casserole containers.
Top with desired topping–paprika, shredded cheese, cheese slices, almonds… My standby is either mozzarella or cheddar cheese
Refrigerate for up to 2 days or label and freeze for later.

Cooking:
Bake thawed casserole 375 for 45 min-1 hour until cooked through and top is golden. (Cover in foil first ½ hour or so)

4 thoughts on “Undecorating and Mashed Potatoes

  1. I think I may try making a few of these later in the week. My dh LOVES mashed potatoes and I get tired of the same old, so this will be a nice new recipe. As for Christmas decorations, ours are still up! We usually take them down on New Year’s day, but we have had several things going on and it just hasn’t happened. Kev would be fine to leave them up until February, but it’s driving me crazy. I’m ready to put all my snowmen out for winter and get the Christmas stuff put away. I’m tackling the basement mess this week, so we will have room for the decorations this weekend.

  2. Thank you! Those look fabulous and I can’t wait to try it. I’m going to copy and paste it to a word doc., hope you don’t mind.

    Abiding in the Vine!

Leave a Reply

